Imagine a Dream: “Demons” by Imagine Dragons

Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 10.04.11 AM

This post is essentially the “how to create a video using very little footage” blog post, as I did with my newest video for “Demons” by Imagine Dragons. I uploaded this video a while ago, but I finally had a spare second to write about why it looks and is composed the way it is.

After watching the video, if you’re confused, let me break down the story behind this film. A guy has a fear of jumping off the swing in his dreams, and his inner demons keep laughing at him and keeping him from successfully banishing this fear. The video depicts the battle between that inner demon and himself, after which our main hero prevails.

Now you might say WTF to all of that, because the video looks a bit shitty – to be blunt – with the constant reuse of footage. That repetition was important in 2 ways: 1) I didn’t have enough time to film or enough resources or crew (just myself!) and 2) I felt that dreams played out through repetition of images; it doesn’t have to make sense, the order that they appear in. I used the second reason to fix the first reason.

Using much of the same footage allowed me to illustrate how exactly what we show on the surface can be seen the same way, but in a different light at the same time. A bit contradictory, but I believe it makes sense in the long run.

I battled the demon of having next-to-no footage, and won!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

