The “Wonder” of New York & Emeli Sandé

Screen Shot 2013-01-26 at 3.15.47 PM

If there was ever such a thing as a spontaneous music video, this would be it.

I was visiting my best friend, Maura, and her sister, Alison, in NYC one weekend in the summer of 2012. As I stepped off the train in Grand Central, I just felt the overwhelming power to love the city…as largely corny as that sounds. I whipped out my little digital camera and just shot anything as I walked by. The city in its natural state. The city when no one was watching.

Maura and Alison became mini stars of the video in the process. Maura was none-too-fond of my choosing her spread-eagle shot being the cover photo for the video, but we laugh about it now. We’ve been best friends for quite some time.

I also chose the video to be the opportunity to experiment with the Chroma Key/green screen effect. I used the moving shots from the train as my backdrop and filmed against as solid a color wall as I could find. It was mostly successful, I believe, for the little experimentation I’ve done with it and considering the lack of equipment I have.

“Wonder” is such an interesting visual to watch, so I hope it entrances you.

Marvel below.

Video: Emeli Sandé & Naughty Boy – “Wonder” (HD Music Video)

Date Uploaded: July 20, 2012

Note: The video is blocked practically worldwide except from the US on YouTube so I uploaded it to Vimeo. Try both for the heck of it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

