The Sexiest Song Never Heard: Coldplay & Kylie Minogue

blogkylie

It’s true. Once upon a time, Coldplay and Kylie Minogue recorded a song together.

And by once upon a time, I mean for World AIDS day in 2009. Originally meant to be included on Coldplay’s Viva La Vida or Death And All His Friends, “Lhuna” was actually left off the tracklist and sent to be a charity single for World AIDS day instead. Critics applauded the song for its sexiness and the overall dynamic between singers Chris Martin and Kylie.

The song is quite the haunting tune. It just wouldn’t ever leave my head the moment it came out. I would stare out at the trees and picture this song coming to life. So I did just that. One summer night, I went out into my mosquito infested yard, braved the nighttime humidity, and filmed a music video in a little under two hours (I just wanted to get the filming out of the way because the bugs were about to eat my face off).

I mostly tried to embody the haunting the song evokes in the audience. Instead, I focused on the lighting and color use. I consider it more of an artistic representation of the lyrics, rather than a narrative story. Of course, I was only 17, how much sexy could I put in a music video by myself?

Oh, now you see my point. Thanks a bunch.

Video: Coldplay – Lhuna (featuring Kylie Minogue) (Music Video)

Date Uploaded:  August 1, 2009

Note: The audio un-synched from the video when uploaded through YouTube…can’t really fix it at this point with over 1,700 views. Oh well.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

